Top Ten Books on my TBR for Summer 2015

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week they have a new top ten list which they invite bloggers to participate in. This week’s list is Top Ten Books on my TBR for Summer 2015 so without further ado lets jump into the list!

1) The Martian by Andy Weir.

the martian

The martian is about an astronaut who gets left behind on Mars after a space mission goes wrong. He has to try and survive on very limited resources all the while trying to contact NASA who believe him to be dead. Now this sounds like a bit f a dark read for summer but I’ve heard that it’s actually really funny. Very much looking forward to reading this.

2) I Was Here by Gayle Forman.

i was here

I Was Here centres around this girl named Cody who’s best friend Meg commits suicide and her attempts to understand why and deal with it. Again not exactly light fluffy reading but I really enjoy Gayle Forman and she never fails to pull on my heart strings so this should be a good one.

3) The Scorch Trials by James Dashner.

the scorch trials

This is the second book in the Maze Runner series and it follows the gladers after they escape the maze. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first book but I did enjoy the movie so I want to give this a read before the next one comes out.

4) The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

miniaturist

The Miniaturist follows this girl Nella who’s sent to marry a wealthy merchant. He gives her a miniature replica of their home but soon Nella realises there is more to this gift then meets the eye. I’ve heard some mixed things about the Miniaturist but the consensus seems to be that its a slow book but beautifully written so I think its still wort a read.

5) Skin by Ilka Tampke

skin

I received this book to review from Hodder Books and I’ll be honest I’m not a hundred percent sure whats its about, the summary doesn’t give much away, but it sounds mystical and mysterious and cool. It’s also really beautiful so I’m excited to read it!

6)  I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter.

id tell you

Finally something light-hearted! This book follows Cammie who attends a school for geniuses which is actually a school for spies. I really love Ally Carter’s series Heist Society so I think I’ll love this this! It sounds like a lot of fun!

7) Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.

amy

Whats more summery than a road trip? This book is exactly what it says on the tin: Amy and Roger take the scenic route on a road trip. I’ve never read anything by Morgan Matson before but I’ve always heard great things about her book so I’m excited to pick this up!

8) Across the Universe by Beth Revis.

across the universe

This book has been on my TBR list for ages! It’s a love story mystery set in Space with a really pretty cover! Can’t wait to give it a read.

9) The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.

name of the wind

I don’t think this one needs much explanation. I have heard nothing but good things about this book and it’s been on my TBR list forever! I’m so excited to read it, it sounds like an incredible fantasy book!

and finally:

10) Harry Potter by JK Rowling

harry-potter-books

I plan on re-reading the Harry Potter series again this summer. I had so much fun reading it last year again that its definitely going to become an annual thing for me!

And that is my Top Ten List! Let me know if you plan on reading any of these books this summer and I will see you soon with a new post! Goodbyeee!

March Book Haul

So, if you cast your minds back to the start of the year when all the resolutions came out, I stated that I would not buy any books until the end of March. I did try but needless to say I failed. So here’s all the books I got in the month of March!

miniaturistAuthor: Jessie Burton

Publisher: Ecco

Genre: Historical Fiction

Summary: Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam-a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion-a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

“There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed…”

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office-leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist-an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand-and fear-the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth. (Via Goodreads)

the selectionAuthor: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: YA Fantasy/Romance

Summary: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. (Via Goodreads)

red risingAuthor: Pierce Brown

Publisher: Del Rey (Random House)

Genre: Science-Fiction/Dystopian

Summary: The Earth is dying. Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it. The Reds are humanity’s last hope.

Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it’s all a lie. That Mars has been habitable – and inhabited – for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought.

Until the day that Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside. But the command school is a battlefield – and Darrow isn’t the only student with an agenda. (Via Goodreads)

weightlessAuthor: Sarah Bannan

Publisher: Bloomsbury Circus

Genre: Contemporary

Summary: When 15-year-old Carolyn moves from New Jersey to Alabama with her mother, she rattles the status quo of the junior class at Adams High School. A good student and natural athlete, she’s immediately welcomed by the school’s cliques. She’s even nominated to the homecoming court and begins dating a senior, Shane, whose on again/off again girlfriend Brooke becomes Carolyn’s bitter romantic rival. When a video of Carolyn and Shane making out is sent to everyone, Carolyn goes from golden girl to slut, as Brooke and her best friend Gemma try to restore their popularity. Gossip and bullying hound Carolyn, who becomes increasingly private and isolated. When Shane and Brooke—now back together—confront Carolyn in the student parking lot, injuring her, it’s the last attack she can take.

Sarah Bannan’s deft use of the first person plural gives Weightless an emotional intensity and remarkable power that will send you flying through the pages and leave you reeling. (Via Goodreads)

the young elitesAuthor: Marie Lu

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Genre: Science Fiction

Summary: Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her. (Via Goddreads.)

red queenAuthor: Victoria Aveyard

Publisher: Orion

Genre: Fantasy

Summary: The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win? (Via Goodreads)