Sabriel: Review

sabriel

Author: Garth Nix

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Fantasy

Summary: Sent to a boarding school in Ancelstierre as a young child, Sabriel has had little experience with the random power of Free Magic or the Dead who refuse to stay dead in the Old Kingdom. But during her final semester, her father, the Abhorsen, goes missing, and Sabriel knows she must enter the Old Kingdom to find him.

With Sabriel, the first installment in the Abhorsen trilogy, Garth Nix exploded onto the fantasy scene as a rising star, in a novel that takes readers to a world where the line between the living and the dead isn’t always clear—and sometimes disappears altogether. (Via Goodreads.)

Review:

What’s this a review? I know, I’m equally shocked. 

I started reading Sabriel over a month ago just as I hit a bit of a reading slump so Sabriel definitely suffered as a result of it. I just could not get into Sabriel. The book, my version anyway, is only 364 pages but it took me until page 300 to actually really get into the story and the world so that was a bit disappointing.

I can’t really fault this book, I didn’t hate it, I didn’t like it, it was all rather meh to me. I felt indifferent to Sabriel and Touchstone, I liked Moggot but, again, not as much as I was expecting to, overall, I was rather underwhelmed. I had heard such great things about Sabriel and Garth Nix (I mean Sarah J. Maas, my Queen of Queens loves it) but I just didn’t connect with it, at all.

However, I will say that once I hit page 300 I got interested. I’m not sure why but here I emerged from my reading slump and finished the book rather quickly and while I still didn’t love it, I liked it, it was fine and it intrigued me enough that I think I will pick up the sequel but I’m definitely not going to be rushing out for it.

3 Stars.

Leave a Reply

