The 2014 End of Year Book Survey

2014-end-of-year-book-survey

1. Best book you read in 2014? (You can break it down by genre if you want)

I read so many good books this year so it’s hard to pick a favourite! But some of the best of the year for me were Anna and the French Kiss, the Throne of Glass series, Daughter of Smoke, Only Ever Yours and Bone and the Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. 

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

I have to give this one to Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I liked this book but not as much as I expected to.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2014?

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness! When I opened this book first and saw the spelling and the grammar I groaned! I really thought I wouldn’t finish it but OH MY GOD it was amazing! It was such an incredible book. I adored it and I would recommend it to everyone!

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2014?

I don’t have many “reader” friends so I didn’t do a lot of recommending but when I did I told people to read Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, If I Stay by Gayle Forman, Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill and Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

5. Best series you discovered in 2014?

I feel I’m repeating myself but THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS!

6. Favourite new authors you discovered in 2014?

God, I’m definitely repeating myself! Queen Sarah J. Mass, Marie Lu, Stephanie Perkins, Louise O’Neill, Laini Taylor and Patrick Ness!

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you? 

I read a lot of fantasy books this year, in fact, most of what I read was fantasy which I had never read before! So that was definitely outside of my comfort zone but has now become my comfort zone…I am a converted fantasy lover!

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2014?

There are so many but I think I’ve got to give this one to Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill. It was provocative and chilling and just so incredible. A must read.

9. Book you read in 2014 that you are most likely to reread next year: 

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. She is a Queen and I adore her and I will re-read all her books in preparation for Book 4!

10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2014? 

I read so many pretty books this year its hard to pick just one! So, I picked several!

prince of mist

night

daughtersmoke

true love

falconer

annanad

the winners curse

 

 

 

 

11. Most memorable character in 2014?

Celaena Sardothien – Badass Princess Assassin!

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

The Night Circus. A wonderfully rich, decadent, enthralling book.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2014?

Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates. A real eye-opening book. Absolutely incredible and won’t be easily forgotten.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited until 2014 to finally read? 

Anna and the French Kiss – It was so cute and fluffy and adorable and i can’t believe it took me this long to pick it up.

15. Favourite passage/quote from a book you read In 2014?

I don’t know of there were any particular passages that stuck with me. I mean I re-read Harry Potter so every Dumbledore quote ever. The few I remember loving are:

“My name is Celaena Sardothien and I will not be afraid.” – Throne of Glass

“But, mostly, I like to think that Jack Griffith, my father, smiled as I let go of the railing behind me and, stretching my wings to that star studded sky, soared into the night.” – The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender.

16.Shortest and longest book you read in 2014?

The longest book I read this year was a re-read and it was Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and I think the shorted book I read was How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff.

17. Book that had a scene in it that had you reeling and dying to talk to somebody about it? 

I think the Darkling “reveal” in Shadow and Bone really threw me and I made my friend read it so I could talk about it! And every single page of Only Ever Yours!

18. Favourite relationship from a book you read in 2014 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

I love the relationship between Celaena and Chaol, and the friendship between Karou and Zuzana and of course the friendship of the Golden Trio!

19. Favourite book you read in 2014 from an author you read previously.

I read a lot of new authors this year but I think a favourite from an old favourite was The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith – wonderfully dark and disturbing.

20. Best book you read that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else: 

Throne of Glass. Nuff said.

Book Blogging/Reading Life in 2014

1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2014?

I follow some great blogs but I think some of my favourites are Emily @ Books and Cleverness and Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek

2. Favourite review that you wrote in 2014?

I guess my review of Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill – its one of my most viewed and also Louise shared it on Facebook and retweeted it so that was insanely cool.

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

I don’t really post a lot of discussions which is something I aim to change in 2015.

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?

I really loved Ariel Bissets video on rating books. I thought it was really interesting – as all her videos are actually. (Hope this isn’t cheating!)

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)

I loved participating in Summer of Spells! I’d actually forgotten so much of what happened in Harry Potter so it was great to re-read them. I also went to a signing for Leigh Bardugo, she was so pretty and so smart and I got my books signed so it was great!

6. Best moment of book blogging in 2014? 

When Louise O’Neill posted my review on her Facebook page.

7. Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My most popular post was Waiting on…A Court of Thorns and Roses. Everyone loves Sarah J. Maas.

8. Post you wished got a little more love?

I’d love for all of my posts to get a little more love but I’m pretty okay with everything that I accomplished this year. 🙂

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

The Harry Potter section in Hamleys and Black Books, which is a TV show set in a book store – that counts right?

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

My original aim of the year was to read 50 books and I completed that goal in August and then I tried to read 80 – that one I did not achieve! I also participated in and completed Summer of Spells which was a Harry Potter re-read!

Looking Ahead…

1. One book you didn’t get to in 2014 but will be your number 1 priority in 2015? 

The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness and Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor – I need them so badly!

2. Book you are most anticipating for 2015?

Oh! I think A Court of Thorns of Roses and Throne of Glass Book 4 by Sarah J. Maas. Need them like air!

3. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging in 2015?

I hope to read 80 books and to post a bit more regularly!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

