My True Love Gave To Me: Review

true loveAuthor: Stephanie Perkins, Holly Black, Laini Taylor, Gayle Forman, Ally Carter, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Rainbow Rowell, Kiersten White.

Publisher: Macmillian’s Children’s Books

Genre: Christmas Anthology

Summary: On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me …This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays. (Via Goodreads)

 

Review:

Take a good look at those authors…need anyone ask why I bought this? My True Love Gave To Me does not only feature some of my favourite authors it is also extremely beautiful! I mean look at it! It’s so beautiful in fact that anytime I try to take a picture of it my Instagram app crashes. Yup, it’s so beautiful that it crashed Instagram – Life Goals.

Given the authors that contributed to this anthology there was a lot of hype around this book and, for the most part, that hype was deserved. This book is very cute, very fluffy and overall quite Christmassy – it did exactly what it said on the tin and if you’re still looking for a last minute Christmas present for a book worm friend I would recommend this. Well worth the money and so, so beautiful!

Now there are twelve short stories, some shorter than others, and the majority of them are wonderful so here are some mini reviews for each!

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell – This one is really short, really sweet and really quite adorable.

The Lady and The Fox by Kelly Link – Simply stunning. This story was absolutely amazing, one of my favourites in the entire anthology. I want to read everything that Kelly Link has ever written and I want her to turn this short story into a full blown novel. Fantastic.

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena – This one started out really well and I was set to name it one of my favourites but the ending left me a little cold. It was nice but slightly average towards the end.

Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han – I really did not like this story. It’s the shortest in the book, only five pages and barely that and it’s just not good. It had great potential but the ending is just s abrupt and random – I mean one more paragraph could have really ended this note and made it either really sweet or really sad but sweet but it just ended and ended badly. I do think it’s possibly the worst in the book.

It’s A Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins – Fluffy, cute, adorable and quintessentially Stephanie Perkins. I loved this story, it was everything you want from Perkins and more. Wonderful, feel good story complete with cute guy. Magic.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan – Not a favourite because there was a lot of backstory that was hinted at but couldn’t be elaborated on because, you know, short story but still very sweet, very christmassy and very nice.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black – This one started off really well, it was funny and really fun to read but I don’t think enough was done for it to have the ending that it did. It started off contemporary and suddenly for the final page it was fantasy and nobody so much as batted an eye so while it was good the ending didn’t feel quite right.

What The Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman – A Gayle Forman book that didn’t make me cry! It’s a Christmas Miracle! I love this one, it was really short and sweet and just left me with warm feelings. Exactly what you need on Christmas.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire – There was nothing particularly wrong with this one other than I didn’t really like it. I can’t find a fault to it other than to say personal preference dictates no.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White – Love, Love, Love. This story was sweet, poignant and perfectly Christmassy. One of my favourites.

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter – Wasn’t the biggest fan of this one. I liked the plot line but the entire thing was too rushed for me to really believe in it. I mean Ally Carter has convinced me that teenagers can rob the Henley Museum but I couldn’t quite suspend my disbelief for this one.

The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor – Perfect. It was rich, enthralling and just so, so beautiful. The perfect story to end on.

Overall, this anthology was fantastic. There were a few let downs in there but there always are but overall well worth a read.

4 Stars.

Leave a Reply

