The Hunger Game: Mockingjay Part 1: Movie Review

MOCKING

 

 

Director: Francis Lawrence

Distributer: Lionsgate

Cast: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Julianne Moore, Donald Sutherland, Natalie Dormer, Sam Claflin, Willow Shields, Phillip Seymour Hoffman.

Summary: With the Games now destroyed and in pieces, Katniss Everdeen, along with Gale, Finnick and Beetee, now end up in the so thought “destroyed” District 13. Under the leadership of President Coin and the advice of her friends, Katniss becomes the “Mockingjay” and the symbol of rebellion for the people (Via IMDB)

 

Review:

So, last Wednesday I went to the midnight premiere of The Hunger Game: Mockingjay Part 1 and I will be completely honest: I expected to fall asleep. It wasn’t that I expected the movie to be bad it was just that I had a pretty hectic day, I’d been up since six spent five hours travelling and had barely eaten: I expected to fall asleep. I did not.

I really enjoyed this film. I don’t really think that they needed to split Mockingjay into two films but I can’t deny that they did a good job with this one. What really made it work for me is that we cut away from Katniss in District 13 and saw the effect of the Propos, we saw the people rebelling, stuff we obviously knew was happening but seeing it was really amazing and it was beautifully shot and acted by all the people involved.

Jennifer Lawrence as usual goes a great job as Katniss and Josh Hutcherson, who doesn’t have much screen time in this film, was sensational. He did a wonderful job as Peeta. The supporting cast of course was wonderful too, Philip Seymour Hoffman was terrific as Plutarch, Woody Harrelson as Haymitch but I was a bit disappointed by Julianne Moore, she played the role fine but I just didn’t get the feeling of concern from her that I felt like I should have. Natalie Dormer was fantastic in her role and I loved seeing her in this film, there was not enough Sam Clafin as Finnick and there was too much Liam Hemsworth as Gale. (Sorry, I just never liked Gale that much.)

I really enjoyed this film, it’s action packed and it’s emotional and despite the lack of Hunger Games it still holds your attention. In particular the Hanging Tree scene is magical and is one hell of a musical moment – I’d recommend the movie based on that scene alone.

There were a few things i didn’t like, the “If We Burn” scene just didn’t do it for me. I think it was because Jennifer Lawrence stumbled over or rolled her R on the burn and it just wound up making me laugh but the thing I hated the most was the treatment of Finnick’s backstory. It’s told as a distraction for the rescue of the other tributes and because we also get to see the rescue it felt like Finnick’s story – his very powerful, very tragic story, was pushed aside and nobody really cared.

Overall though, a very good movie. I’ll probably wind up seeing it again.

4 Stars.

Leave a Reply

