The Retribution of Mara Dyer: Review

retribution of mara dyerAuthor: Michelle Hodkin

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Genre: Paranormal

Summary: Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.
Retribution has arrived. (Via Goodreads.)

Review:

The Retribution of Mara Dyer is the final book in the Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin. The Mara Dyer series is a very interesting one for me because I know I like but if you asked me to explain it to you I wouldn’t have a clue what to say. It is safe to say that for most of this series I didn’t have a fucking clue about what was going on – the same goes for Retribution but still really enjoyed it. Yeah, let that sink in.

I really enjoyed this book. I love Michelle Hodkin’s writing, especially her dialogue! She does sassy and witty better than almost anyone else. The relationship and back and forth between Mara and Jamie is absolutely fantastic, so snarky and so funny. They have such a wonderful friendship. Of course, the relationship between Mara and Noah is quite addicting – they are so dysfunctional but I can’t help but want them together so I was quite happy with certain parts of this book *wink wink*

Mara too is one of my favourite protagonists, not because she’s particularly likeable but because she’s complex and multifaceted and she’s very aware of her own darkness and I loved her growth in this book and her acceptance of herself. I thought it was wonderful. (She is annoying at times, yes, but so is everybody.)

Overall, I was really happy with this book. A lot of questions were answered, it was funny, it was sweet and it was fucked up – everything you expect from Mara Dyer but it was not the most satisfying of endings. There are a lot of loose ends left, a lot of questions that I wanted answers to that we just didn’t get and I was a bit disappointed by that – I just needed a few more chapters but alas no.

While I did enjoy Retribution it’s not the most satisfying of conclusions. I am still slightly confused but what else did I expect? It’s Mara Dyer.

4 Stars.

Leave a Reply

