Sweet Evil: Review

sweet evilAuthor: Wendy Higgins

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal

Summary: Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.
Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns? (Via Goodreads.)

Review:

I went into Sweet Evil expecting something kinda cheesy, kinda cringey; something in the vein of Richelle Mead – a little bad but oh, so good. I did not get that. I really did not like this book.

I knew going into it the book was going to be cheesy and I liked the cheesy plot line but I just hated the characters. I just felt nothing for them. I found them stilted and unlikeable. I didn’t like the romance, I didn’t believe in it. I was just immensely disappointed by it all.

The plot too (I liked the over all idea – son of lust, daughter of angel/demon – could have been amazing ) but Higgins execution of it just left me wanting. It was like so much happened yet nothing happened. I was at the final page of the book but I felt like nothing important had happened and yet I felt like I had been reading for ages! Just, no. This book was not for me.

However – I am curious about what happens. I have heard that this series improves so I am slightly open to giving it another go. Just, not yet. Not anytime soon.

2 Stars. 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Evil: Review

  1. Sad to hear you didn’t like this one. I have wanted to read it for quite some time because everybody says is so much fun! Nothing special though, just a fun book. I might read it just to see how I feel about the characters now….

    • I think it has the potential to be liked…it just didn’t do anything for me. I didn’t really like Anna either so that was probably the main reason why I didn’t like the book.

Leave a Reply

