Cinder: Review

cinderAuthor: Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Genre: Fantasy/Dystopian

Summary: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future. (via Goodreads.)

 

Review

I had heard nothing but great things about Cinder so I went into it expecting nothing but great things and I must admit I am a little disappointed.

Cinder is definitely an interesting book; a retelling of Cinderella as a Cyborg from the moon, I mean that is something to capture interest, and I did enjoy how the sic-fi elements mixed in with the traditional story of Cinderella, however the book did fall a little flat for me.

I did enjoy the story and I did very much enjoy the characters. I especially loved Cinder and Kai and Iko and Dr. Erland – they were all very interesting, very multifaceted and very compelling. The world itself was also incredible – I loved how a futuristic world could have the capacity to save peoples lives through cybernetics but then turn around and brand these people as “second class citizens”  it was a very intriguing twist to things and I loved the position it put Cinder in, especially when it came to her relationship with Kai and the rest of society.

My main issue with the book was it’s predictability. Now, I know it is a retelling of a very, very famous story so of course I was going to have some indication of what was going to happen and I accept that however I found the “major twists” to be insanely predictable as well. Without spoiling, I predicated the main twist on page 42 of 390. So when the time came to gasp and be shocked, I wasn’t. I simply nodded and thought, “Well, that was obvious.”

Now, that being said I did like Cinder, I enjoyed the world, I liked the characters. It was a fun, easy and quick read and I am looking forward to reading more. I will definitely be picking up Scarlet and maybe Cress – but the predictability of this book definitely downgraded it from a solid 4 Star tale to an average 3 but I still think it is worth a read.

3 Stars.

3 thoughts on “Cinder: Review

Leave a Reply

