The Kiss of Deception: Review

kiss of deceptionAuthor: Mary E. Pearson

Publisher: Henry Holt

Genre: Fantasy

Summary: A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love. (Via Goodreads.)

Review:

The Kiss of Deception has been on my radar for awhile and I spent ages trawling through bookshops trying to find only for one very kindly bookseller to finally tell me that it was not yet being sold in Ireland…this is where we give thanks to The Book Depository…Now, back to the review.

The Kiss of Deception is a bit of a contradiction for me, on the one hand I liked it and on the other hand I was bored by it. For me the main draw of this book was that it was broken up into three points of view; Lia’s the runaway princess bride, the assassin sent to kill her and the Prince she left at the alter, and I was really looking forward to trying to figure out who was who but it turned out to not be that difficult. I made my guess when they both appeared and I turned out to be right so with that done, and being pretty confident in my decision, not much really happened for the first 200 pages or so. So, while it was a nice story and nicely written, it was, at times, just a bit dull.

I did enjoy the characters and the relationships that developed between them. I can’t really go into details about Kaden and Rafe without revealing who’s who so I will just say that I liked them and I look forward to seeing more of them. I adored the friendship between Lia and Pauline and the relationships between Lia and her brothers – they were definitely one of my favourite aspects of the book. As for Lia herself I was a bit slow to appreciate her, as I said not much truly happens in the first 200 pages but in the latter 200 pages Lia really shows her true colours. She is a very powerful, savvy young woman and she will, without a doubt, be a force to be reckoned with in the upcoming sequels. I was very impressed by her.

It is a contradiction of a book. While at times it was a bit slow and a bit dull I still enjoyed it, for a time it was a nice calm read and then the political intrigue and magic crept back in and we were tossed right back into the danger zone much like Lia was. The books leaves a lot of unanswered questions that I am eager to see answered so I will definitely be picking up the sequel when it comes out. Overall, a very enjoyable book you just have to give it a bit of time.

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

