The 100: Review

the 100Author: Kass Morgan

Publisher: Hoddor Books

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction (Dystopia)

Summary: In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland… before it’s too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust – and even love – again. (Via Goodreads.)

 

Review

I am a huge fan of the 100 tv series so when I found out it was based on a book I went on a hunt for a copy and finally picked it up a few weeks ago. I read it pretty quickly, in one sitting, it’s a very short, very easy book to read but it wasn’t the greatest thing I’ve ever read.

I think the issue with the book is that I had seen the TV series first and so I wasn’t really surprised or worried about what was going to happen because for the most part they follow the book pretty okay (plot wise anyway). There are two main dilemmas in this book but I was aware of both of them due to the show so I was really just waiting for them to me mentioned as opposed to being shocked by them when they happened – that being said there were a few differences that I enjoyed – particularly Wells crime so I’m looking forward to learning more about that and seeing where it will go.

A lot of the characters are the same as the TV show too with a few differences Graham appears to be Murphy and some of his characteristics have been passed onto Bellamy and Bellamy’s have been passed onto Finn (who does not appear in the books which makes me laugh since I have the TV show-tie in cover so his face is right there in the middle of the book cover.) My biggest disappointment I will admit is that Jasper and Monty don’t appear in the book and as far as I can see there doesn’t appear to be a comedic substitutes so there aren’t many laughs in the book. It is rather bleak but I suppose that’s the point of a 100 kids stranded on earth waiting to either die or be rescued.

Ultimately I liked this book. It’s not the best thing ever written but it’s mildly entertaining so if you’re looking for something that’s quick and easy to read I’d say give it a shot.

I definitely preferred the tv show but I think I’ll pick up the sequel to this to see where it goes. (BTW Bellarke shippers – they’re actually kinda together in this.)

3 Stars.

 

Leave a Reply

