Heir of Fire: Review

heir of fireAuthor: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Genre: Young Adult High Fantasy

Summary: Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love? (Via Goodreads.)

Review:

I think if you’ve read my blog before you’ll know that I am a Sarah J. Maas and Throne of Glass fanatic! I adore this series, I think it is one of the best high fantasy series out there and that it should be read by every fantasy fan ever! So, naturally after I devoured the previous two books and the prequel I pre-ordered Heir of Fire and I waited and waited and waited…God, there was so much waiting, but finally! Finally! Heir of Fire arrived and I was both excited ad terrified to read it but read it I did and OMFG it was amazing.

Heir of Fire differs from the previous two instalments of the Throne of Glass series. We no longer focus on the core three of Celaena, Chaol and Dorian as a whole new host of characters are introduced including Rowan, Manon and Aedion and as such the book is split into three different perspectives; Dorian, Chaol and Aedion in Rifthold, Manon and the Ironwitches and Celaena and Rowan in Wendlyn.

This really expands the Throne of Glass universe and pushes readers outside of the comfort zone that the previous two books provided. For the most part I enjoyed this however it did take me awhile to warm up to Manon Blackbeak and her storyline. I am aware it was done to show us what the King was plotting and give us an indication of the forces Celaena would face in upcoming books but for a great portion of the book I didn’t care about it, I just wanted to get back into Chaol or Celaena’s story. I did eventually warm to Manon, especially once she chose Abraxos as her mount (essentially a dragon and no power on this earth will convince me to stop picturing him as Toothless from HIMYD.) her scenes after were sometimes funny and sometimes sweet and you saw the possibility of redemption in her and so I’m looking forward to seeing where her story goes in the future and how it will fit into Celaena’s.

I really, really enjoyed Chaol and Aedion’s storyline. I loved that were we seeing the beginnings of a rebellion and I loved watching Chaol struggle with the fact that he was technically assisting the enemy. I don’t think Chaol is loyal to the King but he is loyal to Adaralan and Dorian and since he personally knows Celaena and knows what she is capable (let’s be honest she’s not the most mentally stable of people) it’s really interesting to watch him struggle with the idea of his former lover who is also a deadly and rather unstable assassin as the sovereign of an enemy nation. Likewise, I really enjoyed Aedion and how he deals with his reputation as being a traitor to Terresan and being known as “The King’s Whore”  when’s he actually a rebel and doing what he can to protect his people and the tentative friendship/alliance that developed between him and Chaol was great and I love them and I’m looking forward to seeing more of it.

Dorian also did things…he slept with a healer and told Chaol to cop himself on and did nothing else until the ending…in which things happened. I know Dorian is important in the grand scheme of things but I do struggle to find myself caring about him…sorry.

Now let’s get to Celaena’s story line. It was sensational. This book is really about Celaena coming to terms with who she is and who she is supposed to be and how she deals with her guilt and her fear and it was so well written and so incredible and just so powerful. My favourite part was towards the end when she, for lack of a better term in lieu of spoilers, faces her supposed crimes. It was wonderfully written and excruciatingly painful and absolutely perfect. Just fantastic, I loved everything about it, especially her friendship with Rowan and I can’t wait to see how it all plays out.

Overall, loved this book. I thought it was wonderfully written, the ending of the book was just sensational and I would definitely tell everyone to pick it up. It’s not quite a five star for me mostly because it took me a long time to get into Manon’s storyline but it is a very strong 4.5

4.5 Stars.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Heir of Fire: Review

Leave a Reply

