The Falconer: Review

falconerAuthor: Elizabeth May

Publisher: Gollancz

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 312

Summary: 

Debutante by day. Murderess by night. Edinburgh’s only hope.

Edinburgh, 1844. Beautiful Aileana Kameron only looks the part of an aristocratic young lady. In fact, she’s spent the year since her mother died developing her ability to sense the presence of Sithichean, a faery race bent on slaughtering humans. She has a secret mission: to destroy the faery who murdered her mother. But when she learns she’s a Falconer, the last in a line of female warriors and the sole hope of preventing a powerful faery population from massacring all of humanity, her quest for revenge gets a whole lot more complicated. The first volume of a trilogy from an exciting new voice in young adult fantasy, this electrifying thriller blends romance and action with steampunk technology and Scottish lore in a deliciously addictive read. (Via Elizabeth May’s website.)

Review: The Falconer is the perfect cross between Jane Austen High Society and the High Octane Drama of any thriller! I simply adored it!

The Falconer centres around Lady Aileana Kameron who dedicates her life to hunting Faery’s who feed on humans after witnessing one murder her mother but Aileana’s life isn’t all crossbows and Faery blood it also consists of ridiculous ball gowns, dance cards and trying not shame her family name! Perhaps there are other historical fantasy books out there where a female hunter also has to maintain the rules of propriety but I haven’t read them so I found The Falconer to be very interesting! It was so fascinating to see Ailaena who is so badass have to find a way to avenge her mother’s death but to do so without drawing attention to herself and ruining herself thereby also ruining her mother’s memory! It was great I loved it.

It’s a very short book, barely breaking the three hundred mark and it’s quick and excellently paced and at times it horrific and sad but it also manages to be funny and fun to read and that for me made it really enjoyable.

The characters too were wonderful! I love Aileana or Kam, Derrick, Kieran even Catherine and Gavin and I am very looking forward to reading more about them because this ending? Talk about a freaking cliffhanger!

My only nitpick really is that I wished the relationship between Kieran and Aileana had touched on a bit more. I would have liked to see more interaction and maybe a bit more emotion on Kieran’s part just to make it all seem a bit more believable. Don’t get me wrong I liked their relationship and I know its going to be one of those extremely difficult marred with issues relationships that I’ve been loving lately (should they actually survive) and I liked that I just wish we saw more of it.

Overall, it was a very interesting and enjoyable debut novel, I can’t wait to read the second one!

4 Stars.

Leave a Reply

