Siege and Storm: Review

siege and stormAuthor: Leigh Bardugo

Publisher: Indigo Books

Summary: Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm. (Via Goodreads.)

Review: These days I am always a little wary when it comes to picking up the second book in a series. The thing is, I know I want the book, I really want to read the book but I do really fear ‘The Twilight Effect” meaning that I’ll love the first book, read the next books and watch in horror as the slowly get worse and worse until I can’t love the series anymore. The Grisha Trilogy does not suffer from The Twilight Effect. Siege and Storm is simply wonderful and I enjoyed it a lot more than Shadow and Bone.

Bardugo does an excellent job in picking up the story from Shadow and Bone’s cliffhanger-esque ending and expanding the world that she created in her previous novel. It was really fascinating to see what existed beyond the Little Palace and how everyone is affected by The Darkling and his plans and by Alina’s existence. I just loved it.

Siege and Strom also introduced some wonderful new characters in Nikolai, Toyla and Tamar and they created some really interesting contrasts for me and I really enjoyed how they seemed to represent another part of Alina – in that Mal is her security, the part of her that wants to be safe and run, the Darkling is Alina’s darkness and her own desire for power and Nikolai is her willingness to fight to protect people. Bardugo’s mirror images were fun and I really liked seeing them and how Alina plays off of them.

Bardugo’s writing is also much improved. I loved her prose in this book! It really was stunning, I especially loved the last lines of the book.

The Darkling told her he was destined to rule. He had claimed his throne and a part of her too. He was welcome to it. For the living and the dead she would make herself a reckoning. She would rise.

The only aspect I didn’t enjoy in this book is the lack of the Darkling. He is without a doubt one of my favourite characters in the Grisha Trilogy. He is just so fascinating and I wish we could see inside his head – I actually wouldn’t have minded a dual POV in this book – and I wish we could have see more of him.

However, I loved this book. I loved the politics, the romance, the relationships and the struggles Alina went through. My favourite book of the series so far.

4 Stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

