Champion: Review

championAuthor: Marie Lu

Publisher: Penguin

Summary: He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything. (Via Goodreads.)

Review:

So we have come to the last book in the Legend trilogy and I must admit I am a little disappointed.

Champion did a lot of things right. I enjoyed the pacing, Lu’s writing style and I really enjoyed the fact that we got to see some of the world outside of the Republic. Many series just focus on their own location and fail to mention what is happening in the world outside of it so I liked that Lu gave some insight to the going ons of other countries.

In my review of Prodigy I mentioned that I wanted a better explanation of Thomas’s actions and we got it! So that aspect made me very happy. I also liked that June and Day’s relationship still struggled. I think that was a very accurate and honest portrayal of their relationship.

And that’s where my love for the book sort of ends. The remaining aspects just left me feeling a little cold.  A lot of the relationship dynamics that altered or began in Prodigy were sort of skipped over or magically fixed. When Tess returns she and Day immediately become friends again, no muss no fuss with very little explanation or communication. The Patriots and Day reunite as close as ever and where you would expect anger or frustration or some sort of emotional turmoil, there is none and this is mostly because of Day’s illness which started to feel like a bit of a cop out to me. It was intriguing at the end of Prodigy but in Champion it felt like Lu used it as an excuse to get away with certain things or fix certain things without much effort.

Which brings us to the ending. For the most part I though the ending was pretty good. I liked the resolution between the Republic and the Colonies and I liked how the relationships developed between the side characters but it was the ending between June and Day that left me cold. As I have said many times my favourite aspect of their relationship was that it wasn’t easy, it was fraught from problems from the very beginning that they were constantly struggling to overcome and the ending Lu chose for them felt cheap to me. She brought out a magic eraser and scrubbed out the problems she didn’t know how to fix and it felt very dishonest. I liked that they ended happy I just didn’t like how they got there.

My issue with this book, really and truly was that I expected more. Lu introduced so many interesting characters and interesting plot points that could have been taken somewhere better but they weren’t and as a result the book felt a little bare.

Overall, I enjoyed it but it could have been better.

Three Stars.

Leave a Reply

