Prodigy: Review

prodigyAuthor: Marie Lu

Publisher: Penguin

Summary: Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games? (Via Goodreads.)

Review: It’s always great when you pick up a sequel to a book you enjoyed and find that it is better than the first. It’s even better when the sequel goes about fixing some of the issues you had with it’s predecessor.

One of my main issues with Legend was the insta-love between Day and June. In Prodigy though the insta-love does continue, Day tells June he loved her within the first few chapters, it is not immediately perfect as I expected it would be. Their relationship suffers through a lot of issues, mostly internal ones. They don’t immediately run off into the sunset, they have to deal with a lot of things; mostly their vastly different backgrounds; June as a rich Republic soldier and Day a criminal from the slums, and they different beliefs; June has always been taught to be loyal to the Republic and Day has always known hatred for it. and this puts them at odds with each quite a lot. It was wonderful to see them deal with this issues as opposed to them just being skirted over in favour of kissing scenes.

One thing that irritated me when it comes to the relationships was the change in Thomas. In this book it’s revealed that Metias was in love with Thomas and we’re led to believe that Thomas felt the same way and they may have been on some level involved. I was annoyed by this because it really confused me about Thomas’s behaviour in Legend. He seems really interested in June, he gets angry when June kisses Day and appears to be really jealous of it. I think we’re supposed to see it as him projecting his feelings for Metias onto a more available person and a person who as close to Metias as Thomas will ever get but I don’t think it was explained as well as it could have been so it made me feel like the relationship was introduced to explain Thomas away and introduce a new love interest for June; Anden.

I liked Anden, I think he’s an interesting character and I am excited to see where he goes but the idea of a relationship between him and June leaves me a little creeped out considering that he’s in his twenties and she’s fifteen. I know Lu will continue on with in Champion but it was not one of my favourite aspects of the series. Likewise, I did not enjoy the change in the relationship between Tess and Day. I much preferred it when they kept it a familial relationship, the development of romantic tension just felt like an additional way to drive a wedge between Day and June and create more unnecessary drama. Not a fan.

As for the rest of the novel, I liked the plot, I enjoyed the twists, I thought the pacing was good. My pet peeve still remains in this novel, I hate the font chosen for Day’s text. It really drives me insane and sometimes I find myself skimming some of his chapters because of it. However I still liked this book. I thought it was a fun, quick and easy read and I am looking forward to picking up Champion. 

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

