Legend: Review

Legend_Marie_Lu_Book_cover

Author: Marie Lu

Publisher: Penguin Books

Summary: What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets. (Via Goodreads.)

 

Review:

I am obsessed with Dystopians at the moment – actually I’ve been obsessed with Dystopians for quite awhile and Legend was a Dystopian that I had heard a bit about so I saw it when I was browsing in one of local indie bookstore and thought why not give it a whirl? And I really enjoyed it.

 

I really enjoyed the plot. The testing in this did give me a brief flashback to Divergent but I am pleased to report that I did like this book a lot more.  I found it very interesting that your standing in society and the path you take for the rest of your life is based on your intellect at age ten. I really enjoyed seeing the differences between those who are judged “smart” by the government and those who are not. It was a very interesting concept and I think Lu did a wonderful job writing it.

The characters too were wonderful. June and Day were terrific. I loved that they were both so different yet so similar in many ways. They both strike you as individuals but you just know if the situation had been reversed, if June had failed the test and Day had received a perfect score they’d both have taken over the others existing role perfectly.  And I really liked that.

The side characters too were great. I thought Tess was really sweet, Commander Jameson a total bitch and Thomas quite creepy.

This book is not all good however. One nitpicky thing I didn’t like was the change in font. Every chapter alternates between the perspective of June and Day and I hated the font in Day’s chapters. I am aware that font is a silly thing to be annoyed by but it did really annoy me.

My main issue with this book though was the love story. Don’t get me wrong I do think that Day and June are good together and would potentially make quite a badass couple but it happened too quickly for me. June starts off thinking Day is responsible for the murder of her brother then she spends a few days with him and is instantly in love? It was one thing I didn’t quite buy about this novel. I think if there had been a few more pages and maybe if Lu had specified that June had spent a lot longer with Day, like a month as opposed to a few days I would have liked this book a little more.

That being said, I did really like this book. It is by no means perfect but I did really like it. I enjoyed the world, I enjoyed the storyline and I am looking forward to reaching the sequel.

4 Stars.

signature

Leave a Reply

