World After: Review

world after

Author: Susan Ee

Publisher: Skyscape

Summary: In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose? (Via Goodreads.)

Review:

I will admit that I was slightly disappointed by this book. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, actually liked it a lot but I was still a little let down.

Now, there is nothing really wrong with this book. I enjoyed the plot points, the pacing, the characters. I truly love how Ee portrays the resistance and the survivors in this novel; fearful, not willing to help others, I think it’s a very realistic and honest portrayal of humanity in a Post Apocalyptic World and its wonderfully written.

The main characters too are a joy. Especially Penryn. I love how strong she is yet she’s so vulnerable. She knows the world is falling apart, has fallen apart, she has faced Angels, weird Scorpian monsters, the whole lot and yet what scares her most is one of her mother’s episodes and yet this is also what she draws her strength from. She’s snarky, tough, funny, dedicated and an all around BAMF. Girl stabbed an Angel in the dick. People should bow down. She is defiantly one of my favourite female characters going.

The rest of the characters; her mother, Paige, Clara, DeeDum, Obi, and Raffe, especially Raffe. I love them. They are also different and multifacated. Just beautifully written. I do really love this series!

My only real issue with this book was that there was not enough interaction between Raffe and Penryn. Their interactions were my favourite part of the first book and they don’t really meet again until the last fifty pages or so of World After. However when they do it is wonderful. They are so witty and sarcastic together and both so in love with each and unwilling to admit it. Just terrific.

If Penryn and Raffe had been together more in this book I would be rating it 4/5 but as they do not I’m giving this book 3.5 but it is a strong 3.5!  I would recommend it to everyone and I think a lot of people will enjoy it as I said I was just a tad disappointed.

3.5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

