Requiem: Review

 

 

 

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

 

Author: Lauren Oliver

Publisher: Harper Collins

Summary: Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has transformed. The nascent rebellion that was underway in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight. After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven. Pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels.

As Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain of the Wilds, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena and Hana’s points of view. They live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge. (Via Goodreads.)

 

Review:

I am not sure how to feel.

I was a big fan of the first Delirium book and I enjoyed the second one, missed Alex quite a lot so when he re-appeared at the end of the Pandemonium I immediately bought the ebook of Requiem aaaand it sort of sat, untouched and unread on my kindle for a few months – maybe a year! But, finally, I have read it and as I said, I’m not sure how to feel.

I had heard a lot of things about the ending of Requiem – mainly that is not an ending that you would expect for the final instalment in a series so I was slightly worried as I was getting to the last few pages and nothing was really, truly, resolved. This book definitely doesn’t have a final full stop ending. There is no big victory, no peace agreements or legitimate opt-out schemes developed or whatever so I was slightly disappointed by it but at the same time I liked it.

I do think it was a very fitting end because in fights like Lena’s you don’t always see an immediate resolution. Battles for change are long, arduous and can’t always be achieve in one fell swoop. The ending of Requiem is very reminiscent of the Berlin Wall so I imagine if you take a look at that period in history you can take a pretty good guess at what happens for Lena’s world.

Reqiuem also had alternating chapters between Lena and Hana. It did sort of worry me because I was never Hana’s biggest fan and I thought I’d be bored by her life in the moderated world but I found her story to be so interesting and I think it mixed really well with Lenas. If you split their stories into to separate three hundred page books I would have read them both.

However, Hana finds a lot out about her world and her people in this book and I thought she would do more with the information than what she did. I imagined her joining the sympathisers and letting the Resistance know the truth about Fred Hargrove and the DFA, leading to a great revelation to the people but that didn’t happen. Hana said nothing and just went on with her life, terrified but going through the motions and that left me a little cold. So even though I enjoyed Hana’s story I did expect more and as such was left disappointed by what I got.

I was also disappointed by the interactions between Alex and Lena or lack thereof I should say. I wanted to see more of their relationship, how it would change and grow after the crypts, after Julian but again, didn’t happen. I think they only interacted with each other about four times? So, I was very disappointed by that.

In addition: Fuck Julian.

In my opinion there was a lot missing from this book. I understand leaving the ending the way it is but a bit of closure between the characters would have been nice. I would have liked to see Lena end things with Julian, introduce Alex to her mom, see Raven be mourned – Raven definitely deserved better that what she got, maybe look for the rest of her family. Character-wise the ending felt very bare and impersonal.

These books are supposed to be about choosing to love and about the people we love and that sort of got skipped over in this book. It focused more on rebellion instead which again, totally understandable, but it would have been nice to see the thing they were fighting for included a bit more.

Overall, this book was my least favourite of the trilogy. I did enjoy it, It had some good aspects but it also had a lot of faults that are hard to ignore.

3 Stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

