We Were Liars: Review

we were liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Publisher: Hotkey Books

Summary: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth. (Via Goodreads.)

Review: 

Let’s start by saying that I did enjoy this book but I do think that it is a little overhyped.

It’s hard to write a review about this book because I do agree that it is better to not know anything about it before you read it. So, I’ll be as thoroughly vague as possible. Vaguely Thorough? I don’t know.

Okay, so I did very much enjoy this book. I liked the characters, even though some of them – the majority of them – were assholes, I found them interesting and realistic for the world that they live in. I especially loved how they all interacted together pre and after Cadence’s accident.

I thought Lockhart did a great job with Cadence’s emotions. They felt very real, very raw, very powerful. She wrote it wonderfully. The writing is very simplistic, very understandable and makes this book a quick and easy read.

The book is also broken up by Cadence’s version of fairytales about her family, and this is usually not something I’m overly fond of but I thought it worked really well here and it gave a nice insight as to how Cadence sees her family as the plot goes on.

As for the actually ‘reveal’ of this book. I didn’t see it coming. I had a theory that I thought was pretty spot on as I was reading but it turned out to very, very, very wrong. I was pretty impressed with that.

Overall I did enjoy this book, I thought it was funny and sweet while still being mysterious and a little heart wrenching. At times it was a bit pretentious and I do feel it is overhyped. It is good but I don’t think it is as good as everyone else is making it out to be. If it wasn’t for all the hype surrounding it I’d probably have given it four stars but because it failed to live up to the hype for me it’s more of a 3.7.

It’s much better than Average but I didn’t quite love it.

3-4 Stars

2 thoughts on “We Were Liars: Review

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (June 25) | books & tea & sugar

Leave a Reply

