Crown of Midnight: Review

CrownOfMidnight

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Summary: From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie…and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for. (Via Goodreads)

Review: (Contains Spoilers)

I am at the point where I think if Sarah J. Maas told me to set my house on fire I’d probably do it.

When I reviewed Throne of Glass I said that I already had the sequel in my possession. I literally bought Crown of Midnight thirty seconds after finishing the first book, I thought it was that good and I am pleased to report that the sequel did not let me down, in fact, I thought it was better than the first!

As I stated when I reviewed Throne of Glass the main draw for me in this book is the characters and that did not change in this installment. I thought the development was fantastic, every character grew in some way and they did it in a way that none of it felt rushed or too slow. Sarah J. Maas is the Pacing Master!

I liked that we saw Celaena in full deadly assassin mode and that we got insights into her past which explained her vulnerability and her indecisiveness and why she is the way she is. It was great then to see that put her at odds with Nehemia and watch how their relationship was affected by it.  Of course, making the ending of this book all the more tragic.

Choalaena. I was so happy for the first half of the book and then it was ripped all away but I remain hopeful for the future. Honestly though I do love their relationship. I like the push and pull of it and how it changes both Chaol and Celaena. I know others will disagree but I feel that Celaena is more suited to Chaol than she is to Dorian. He understands her a lot better, as can be seen from the very first chapter when he sees through her Assassin facade and Dorian does not. I really love them and we could have it all if Sarah J. Maas would only let us.

I know a love triangle technically exists and I am rather sick of them, as I imagine everyone else it, but I love how its handled in this series. Celaena chooses not to be with Dorian at the end of TOG and in COM she chooses to be with Chaol and they accept it. There is no fight, no schism between Chaol and Dorian. They don’t see Celaena as a prize to be won, they see her as a woman capable of making her romantic decisions and they accept the decision she makes. Love!

And my theory was correct. I knew from early on in the first book when Celaena states “That she’s not fated for anything. Not anymore.” That there was more to her than the Assasina Guild and I began to suspect that she was the Princess of Terrasen and then she was Fae and I was like, “Oh, okay I was wrong.” But then she was Fae and the Princess and I feel so freaking accomplished for figuring that out! I am really enjoying that twist but it terrifies me to see where it will take us! I also very much loving that she trusted Chaol to *sort of* tell him even though they’re not in a great place at the end of the book.

Oh and I need about a dozen more interactions between Chaol and his father and a novella about Ress and the rest of the guards talking about how so not subtle Chaol and Celaena are, maybe betting on the relationship too.

 

Anyway, to sum up, I loved this book. I loved the characters, the relationships, the magic, the intrigue, everything basically and you should read this series if you’re not already.

5 Stars.

P.S. Does anyone else think Celaena’s real name is seriously tragic? Celaena Sardothien is so badass and Aelin Ashryver Galathynius is really not.

Leave a Reply

