The Fault in Our Stars Movie: Review

the fault in our sta

Author/Director: John Green/ Josh Boone

Publisher/ Distributor: Dutton Books/ 20th Century Fox

Summary: Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. (Via Goodreads.)

Review:

What can I say about this film other than it was wonderful, beautiful piece of cinema?

I really enjoyed this movie. It is one of the best book adoptions I have ever seen. It stuck very well to the source material. I got really excited when I heard direct quotes from the book and there were quite a lot of them. I now understand why John Green has been fingerling all over Tumblr. I would be too if I was him. Splendidly adapted.

There were a few things however that weren’t great. For instance the cigarette metaphor looked a little ridiculous on screen. It just didn’t really work for me visually but that was my only real issue with the film.

The actors, I thought  did a phenomenal job, especially Shailene Woodley Ansel Elgort and Laura Dern. They were exquisite. Woodley and Elgort have great chemistry and they did Hazel and Augustus justice. Laura Dern just broke my heart in this. She was perfect as Hazel’s mother. She was the first one to make me tear up. I was so surprised to see that Willem Defoe was in this film but he was absolutely incredible as Van Houten. Just terrific. Nat Wolff was a perfect choice for Isaac. The second he came on screen he had everyone laughing. Perfect casting all around.

Having read the book I didn’t expect this film to make laugh as much as it did. It was hilarious but it didn’t seem in any way inappropriate or out of place. The night of the broken trophies and the egging of the car has everyone in my theatre rolling. There were also a lot of tears. I am proud to say that I did not full on cry, I got teary a couple of times but I did not start crying. My friend who had not read the book was full on crying though. A lot of people were. If people weren’t laughing, they were sobbing.

This movie was smart, funny, touching and slightly soul destroying. It was well acted, well written and had a stunning soundtrack. I imagine John Green is still crying happy tears and Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan are wishing Josh Boone had directed their adaptions.

Wonderful film. Recommend to all.

4 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars Movie: Review

  1. My boyfriend took me to see this last night. It was wonderful, it did how ever have me sobbing even though I knew what was going to happen having read the book. I was sobbing and laughing through out the entire thing. I thought it was so closely based upon the book. Ansel, made me fall in love with Augustus all over again, even weeks after reading the novel.

    • I was so impressed with Ansel. I was really worried about Gus on screen because I thought he might be too pretentious or annoying but he was so good and funny! I was so happy with him!

      • I can’t imagine anyone else being a better Gus. The movie in general was just heartfelt and you can tell that John Green put, his heart and soul not only in the book but the movie as well.

      • Oh he was perfect! It is definitely one of the best movie adaptations I have seen in a long time!

Leave a Reply

