Throne of Glass: Review

Throne of Glass UK Cover

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Summary: After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another.

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined. (Via Goodreads.)

Review: 

May brought the end of The Mortal Instruments series so I was in need of a new obsession… enter Sarah J. Maas.

adored this book! I had heard a lot about it on book tube and book blogs but it was never on the top of my to buy list but i picked it up two weeks ago and I devoured it in one sitting. I can safely say that I am obsessed!

While I loved the plot, medieval kick ass female assassin?, Yes please! The main draw for me was the characters, particularly the main character Celaena Sardothien. I think a lot of the time in fiction female characters get polarised as one thing, either the angel,  or the whore or the girly girl, the badass etc but not Celaena, she is incredibly well developed, multifaceted character. It’s the accepted fact that she is the strongest and best warrior in the book but she is also incredibly feminine, she loved clothes and shopping, she’s hard but she’s funny and loves to laugh, and she is very brave but she has these wonderful moments of vulnerability and perfect, she is perfect.

Chaol Westfall, the Captain, was another favourite of mine (even though I pronounced his name wrong the whole way through the book.) He’s very serious and very dedicated to his job but he also presents with these moments of conflict about who he works for and how that affects others (Celaena) and that is something difficult to write and something that a lot of authors don’t write well but Maas more than does it justice. It was terrific to read and it’s so subtly done that it feels very realistic and very true to the character and his history. (He’s also total book boyfriend material.)

(If he doesn’t end up with Celaena, I riot.)

Oddly enough, I wasn’t overly fond of Dorian. Which is strange for me as Dorian is sarcastic, witty and flirtatious and usually that’s what I enjoy most about male protagonists but not in this case. The thing about Dorian though is that you just know by the end of the series he’s going to be a great ruler and just King but in Book 1 he didn’t really do much other than bring Celaena to Adarlan. I have a feeling he’ll grow on me though.

I thought the pacing of the book was great, some parts I found a bit slow but overall it was fine, the writing was good, the dialogue snappy and entertaining and yeah, new obsession. I will admit that at times I got confused by some of the spellings and the pronunciations but after awhile that stopped mattering because I was far too obsessed with Celaena and her world.

Throne of Glass was a very welcome surprise for me. When I opened the book first and saw the map I did groan because the last few books I read that required a map, The Bone Season and Priestess of the White, I did not enjoy so I was very happy to find myself whole heartedly in love with this book. I’ve already recommended it to some of my friends.

I’ve already picked up the sequel and I am looking very forward to reading it and seeing if a theory I have about Celaena is true.

4/5 Stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

