Summer Challenges 2014

Hello all! Today, I’m going to talk about some of the challenges I am hoping to complete this summer in addition to my Goodreads Read 50 Books in a Year Challenge.

The first challenge I am participating in is #SummerofSpells!

hp

Summer of Spells is gigantic Harry Potter read along! It is a Goodreads group open to everyone and it is hosted by Bookables, Jessica, Beth, Kassidy and Jamie-Leigh.

I was already planning on re-reading Harry Potter this summer. Originally, I had intended to read them all in July as a little Harry Potter Birthday Celebration but that was probably pushing it. Last week I was catching up on some Booktube and I saw that Bookables had made a video about Summer of Spells and I signed up right away! I think there are over 700 people currently involved in the group so JK is probably thrilled!

I wanted to re-read Harry Potter because I never read the series in order. I think I read the Order of the Phoenix first and I’m pretty sure I read the Prisoner of Askaban last, so I thought it was about time I fixed that!

I have already started the Philosophers Stone and I am very excited to get back into the Wizarding World of Harry Potter!

The second challenge I am also going to try and complete is The Lord of the Rings Buddy Read!

lotr

The aim of this challenge is to read The Fellowship of the Ring in June, The Two Towers in July and finishing up with the Return of the King in August. It is a Goodreads group and is hosted by Donna and Natalie and everyone is welcome to join!

I have never read The Lord of the Rings before even though I own all the books (including the Hobbit) so I am hoping I will at the very least be able to get one of them read.

I shall keep you updates as I go.

Let me know in the comments if any of ye are participating or have any summer challenges of your own!

Leave a Reply

