If I Stay: Review

ifistay

Author: Gayle Forman

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile

Summary: Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters. (Via Goodreads)

Review: You know when you read a book and you’re just at a loss for words when you finish? That’s how I felt after reading If I Stay. 

If I Stay is a wonderfully written book about love, family, finding where you belong, loss, heartache and the most difficult choice you will ever make in your life; to live or die and Forman more than gives these topics justice. She doesn’t present the story in a fairytale manner; from Mia’s relationship with her parents, her sense of alienation, her relationship with Adam and her love of music, everything is painstakingly real and you feel every bit of it and its just…*long ass sight of contentment*

Books don’t usually make me cry. I can count on one hand that book that have made me tear up and If I Stay is one of them. It is a perfect book, not flawless by any means, but perfect. I would recommend it to everyone no matter how young or old and if you know anyone who ever belittles the YA genre or thinks that books aimed at teenagers are not worth reading or not as good as books targeted for adults I would tell you to hand them this book and watch as their soul breaks apart.

Then take them to see the movie.

Beautiful. Devastating. Perfect.

4/5 Stars.

 

Leave a Reply

