Allegiant: Review

allegiant

Author: Veronica Roth

Publisher: HarperCollins

Summary: The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love (Via Goodreads)

Review:   I have said it before and I will say it again, I was never the biggest Divergent fan. I bought the first and second book together, read them, and I liked them; I thought they were perfectly fine but they didn’t leave me with the burning desire to pick up the third so I never did, well, until now. I saw the movie when it came out and it sort of rekindled an interest in the series for me so I bought Allegiant and finished it in about two days and I was unimpressed.

It’s very strange, I think, for the final book in a series to completely alter the mythology of the world it’s set in and that’s what Allegiant does. Tris goes outside the wall and finds that her world isn’t “real” but rather an experiment and that being Divergent only refers to an anomaly in the blood and that to me was a huge slap in the face. I read two books about how being Divergent was special, dangerous etc and to have it be about genetic sequencing that ultimately didn’t really mean anything was sort of a let down. I didn’t think it was a good or even a fitting twist or final instalment. I would have preferred to have read about a Civil War between the Factionless and the Factioned.

The writing style for me has always been a bit flat. I don’t know what it is but Veronica Roth never seems to draw much emotion from me however that being said when the chapters stop doing the thing I did tear up a bit. Those few short chapters from Four’s point of view following (spoiler) Tris’ death were beautifully written and imagining Theo James devastated did devastate me.

With regards to the “twist” – Tris dying was a satisfying end to the series as a result of the changes made by Allegiant but as I knew before reading the book that Tris had died I couldn’t not see the parts where Roth was setting up for her death. There were certain chapters and parts that i read where I was like, “Oh she’s doing this to justify Tris’ death.” and then that felt like a bit of a cop out, as if Allegiant was written just so Tris could die and be a martyr.  I imagine people who hadn’t been spoiled by a TFIOS meme probably didn’t encounter that problem but I did and because of what, to me, seems like Roth’s desire to martyr Tris a lot of characters, in my opinion, got some unfair treatment namely Uriah which left me cold to the entire thing.

Overall’ I think Allegiant was a perfectly average book. Independent from the series it’s slightly better but when it’s included as part of the series it is the weakest book, mostly because it just doesn’t fit with the previous two books.

3/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

