City of Heavenly Fire: Review

cohf

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Walker Books

Summary: Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned… (Via Goodreads.)

Review: (Contains Spoilers)

The Mortal Instruments has always been one of my favourite series. I love the characters, i love the world, I love everything. Whenever a new book came out, I usually devoured it within a day so on the day COHF was released I was waiting outside the book shop. I picked up my copy and went straight home and started reading. The next day I had finished and I loved it. LOVED IT!

I’m not quite sure where to start with this review but I guess I’ll start with the plot of the book. I enjoyed it. I liked the pace of it, how it unfolded, how the characters responded. I loved that we saw the origins of Emma Carstairs and the Blackthorne family, I loved the throwbacks and references to Will Herondale and the London Institute from The Infernal Devices. It was well-written and engaging and had the wonderful humour that Cassandra Clare is known for. However, I do think the plot was slightly predictable. The Fae betraying the Shadowhunters and the Heavenly Fire transferring from Jace into Clary’s sword – I found them to very obvious but it didn’t distract or ruin the book for me, it was a welcome predictability.

I was slightly disappointed by the fact that there were no major-epic twists, like many people had been expecting Isabelle to turn out to be Valentine’s secret love child – which didn’t happen but, again, this didn’t ruin the book for me and I wasn’t disappointed by it. That being said, I didn’t expect for Simon to give up his immortality and sacrifice his memories for the gang – which was slightly heartbreaking – only for them to begin returning and for him to ascend to become a Shadowhunter. I think that was a wonderful, if bittersweet, ending for Simon and for Isabelle.

One thing that I did not like about book was the reaction to Jordan’s death – one of our named six – he was never one of my favourite characters, neither was Maia if I’m being honest, but I didn’t like how his death was done, how Maia didn’t really mourn for him and seemed to move on quite quickly with Bat – I am having trouble deciding if that was a betrayal to his character or a very honest depiction of his and Maia’s relationship. Either way, I felt he deserved more that what was given. I was surprised to find that Raphael’s and Jonathan/Sebastian’s deaths also made me quite sad – more so by the reactions of Magnus and Jocelyn – so well done to Cassandra Clare for making me feel something for characters I never particularly liked – for very different reasons.

Also: PRAISE THE ANGEL MAUREEN IS DEAD.

Overall, I loved this book. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it gave me a lot of feels.

Some of my favourite parts:

Alec “I am not Your Bitch” Lightwood being a Sass Monster.

Simon being Lord Montgomery and drunkenly confessing his love for Isabelle.

Jace bringing a freaking condom to hell dimension – and using it.

Jace becoming a Herondale.

Magnus writing The Bane Chronicles for Alec.

Clace – Malec – Sizzy

The Wedding.

Just a wonderful book and a wonderful sad, happy ending to a wonderful series.

4/5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

