Top Five: Series

I love series. There is nothing I enjoy more then reading a good book and then discovering that there is a sequel and then that it’s a trilogy and in some cases that there are more than ten! So here are my Top Five Series!

1) The Women’s Murder Club Series

Image

Author: James Patterson with Maxine Paetro

Publisher: Little, Brown

Summary: Set in San Francisco the books follow a group of women from different professions relating to investigating crime as they work together to solve murders.

Review: I love mystery/crime books and James Patterson was my first introduction to this genre. 1st to Die was my first ever crime book and ever since picking it up in a second hand store I’ve been obsessed! I love the characters, I love the murders. I just love it all. WMC is my favourite series from Patterson (though it’s a debatable how much of it he actually wrote) I read about half way through Alex Cross but I sort of lost interest but anytime I see a new WMC novel I instantly snap it up.

I do think that this series has kind of lost some of it’s edge. I do think it’s becoming slightly predictable in ways but I will always love this series because it’s still entertaining and because nostalgia!

2) Vampire Academy

Image

Author: Richelle Mead

Publisher: Razorbill

Summary: St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess.  They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger. . .
Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

Review: I devoured these books. I had Vampire Academy on my shelf for months before I picked it up, read it in one sitting and then immediately bought the E-books for the remaining five books. I had the series finished in about four days. I loved it!

Rose Hathaway is definitely one of my favourite protagonists. I did like her a lot more than Lissa. She was fun, snarky and the biggest BAMF and Romitri, oh Romitri, I need so much more of the two of you! One of my favourite literary couples. Now, I’m not blinds to the faults of the series. It’s not perfect but it’s so much fun and it lead to the creation of Dimitri Belikov so any other argument is invalid.

3) The Mortal Instruments

Image

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Margret K. McElderry / Walker Books (UK)

Summary: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know… (Book 1)

Review: Why did the movie have to be so bad? The TMI series is one of my favourite collection of books of all time. I love the romances, the plot line, the action and all of Jace Wayland/Herondale/Lightwoods wonderful snark. I think it’s a fun, engaging series and even when the main plot line was incest I thought it was incredible and very few people can write incest and make thirty-three million people ship it. So, hat’s off to Cassie Clare on that one!

Sadly, the final book of this series is to be released next month and I’m pretty sure everyone I love will die… Yay!

4) The Infernal Devices

Image

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Simon & Schuester

Summary: In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them….

Review: Let me take a minute to just sigh over Will Heron dale…sigh.

So Cassandra Clare makes the list for a second time. Now I admit, I liked this series but what really made me adore it was the relationship between Will Herondale, Jem Carstairs and Tessa Grey – no matter what you shipped it was just perfect in every way. Wonderful romance, wonderful friendship. Also, I have a soft spot for Herondale men! 😉 But I think everyone does.

The final book in this series also has another distinction being one of the only books to ever make me cry! Just beautifully written.

And last but certainly not least…

5) Harry Potter

Image

Author: J.K. Rowling

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Summary: Harry Potter has never played a sport while flying on a broomstick. He’s never worn a Cloak of Invisibility, befriended a giant, or helped hatch a dragon. All Harry knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to a wonderful place he never dreamed existed. There he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic around every corner, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Review: Does this even need explaining?

The best series of all time.

Leave a Reply

