Fangirl: Review

Image

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Summary: Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .

But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind? (via Goodreads.)

Review: I had some definite expectations for Fangirl when I started reading it, these expectations were of the fluffy and cute variety and Rowell did not let me down. However there was also a lot more to this book. Fangirl also dealt with alienation, anxiety, mental illness and parental abandonment and it did so beautifully while managing to keep the tone enjoyable and easy.

The characters in Fangirl were also wonderful, with two exceptions really; Nick and Laura who I hope get slapped by someone at some point namely Cath. I adored Cath and Wren and I loved that they were so different while at the same time being so similar. Levi was adorable and Reagan was a badass and I wish to be friends with her. The friendship between Cath and Reagan is one of my favourite parts of the book and I wish we got to see more of it!

The very interesting thing about this book is that it made me want to read a fictional series so I could read a fictional fanfiction about said fictional series. Seriously. I want to read Simon Snow and then I was to read Carry on Simon. I’m legitimately sad that this is not possible.  Damn you Rowell for making me want nice things! 

Overall, this book was beautifully written. It was sweet, charming and touching. The relationships resonated with you, it made you want to laugh and at some stages even made you a bit teary and in addition to all that it was an incredibly accurate representation of fanfiction and fan culture. Excellent.

4/5 Stars

(Taking off a star because Nick escaped the novel without a slap 😉 )

(Also Rainbow Rowell Favourited one of my Tweets. This has no relevance on the review it just makes me feel cool.)

4 thoughts on “Fangirl: Review

  1. I absolutely agree with you! This book was awesome and I really loved how it dealt with such common yet not so much spoken of subjects. And I would definitely want a roommate like Reagan!

Leave a Reply

